Favors and Lies by Mark Gilleo #authorPost

FavorsandLiesBannerFavors & LiesDan Lord is a forty-year-old private detective with a law degree working the blurred line between right and wrong in the Nation’s Capital. As a self-employed solutions broker and legal consultant, he works for a very select clientele. He doesn’t advertise and only takes cases on referral. But when two people close to him are murdered, Dan’s work becomes very personal.

With the assistance of a newly hired female intern, extracting clues from a ladder of acquaintances, Dan bounds through both the underbelly and elite of society, each step bringing more questions and yet ultimately taking him closer to the answer he seeks. A bail bondsman, a recluse hacker, a court clerk, a university student, an old-school barber, a high-class madam, an intelligence officer, a medical doctor, and a police detective are among the list of people Dan must cajole for help. His quest will lead him to discover things he never wanted to know, and put him in the position to reveal things that important people would prefer remain unrevealed.

Tense, ingenious, and filled with the unforgettable characters, Favors and Lies is Mark Gilleo’s most thrilling novel yet.

Buy on Amazon | Website

 


Location
By Mark Gilleo

I’ve had a few readers inquire as to how I write about different locations in my books. There are two possibilities when it comes to locations. If I have been to the actual location, it obviously provides an advantage for bringing the reader into that location within the story. However, when I make the decision to write about a place I have never visited, it becomes more problematic.

Before I make a final decision on a location for a scene, I try to ask myself if the location is relevant to the story. If not, I can cover the location with less description. If the location is important, then I will cover it in more depth. One of the more challenging scenes I have written was in my first novel, Love Thy Neighbor where a boy is running through the streets of Islamabad. Having never been there, I spent a fair amount of time doing “visual” research. Google Maps is a good tool, if the location has been covered by their mapping system and the views are not out of date. Photographs posted on the internet can also provide enough visual information to use a particular location.

My first three novels are set, at least in part, in the Washington DC area. Having spent most of my life in the area, it makes it a little easier to cover locations that I am familiar with, or in some cases, create locations that don’t actually exist, but could. For example, there is no spy shop in Clarendon (part of Arlington), but I placed one there for Favors and Lies.

In the past, I have also had readers point out inconsistencies between something in a novel and in real life. For example, I’ve had several readers point out that the escalator at one of the metro stops in my book is not as long as I described it (I was aware of this when I wrote the book). I have also had several readers tell me that there are no fourteen-story buildings in DC because there is a height restriction. (There are building height restrictions in DC, but it is not what most people think it is. There are several fourteen-story buildings.)


About the author:

mark gilleoMark Gilleo is the author of three award-winning novels. His books have won both the National Indie Excellence Award and the Readers’ Favorite Award. His two most recent novels were finalists in the 2014 International Book Awards. His latest novel, Favors and Lies, was named Runner-Up for fiction in both the 2014 San Francisco Book Festival and the 2014 New York Book Festival. Mark has a graduate degree in international business from the University of South Carolina and an undergraduate degree in business from George Mason University. He enjoys traveling, hiking and biking. He speaks Japanese. A fourth-generation Washingtonian, he currently resides in the DC area. Follow the author on Twitter | Goodreads


Follow the Book Tour here

The author is giving away some Amazon GC. Open Internationally. Please fill out the form below to enter here:
a Rafflecopter giveaway

One thought on “Favors and Lies by Mark Gilleo #authorPost

  1. Pingback: Favors and Lies by Mark Gilleo

Leave a Reply

