#Interview with Brooklyn Ann, author of ‘Conjuring Destiny’

conjuringdestiny tour banner

 

Brooklyn Ann is the author of several paranormal books. She recently released the third book in her Brides of Prophecy series. Take a few moments to get to know her and her writing world.

1. Tell us about your latest book.

Conjuring Destiny is the 3rd book in my Brides of Prophecy series. It centers on Xochitl (Pronounced So-She) Leonine, the lead singer of a famous metal band. She’s been an interesting side character in the first two books. She’s biologically incapable of fear, has magic powers, and is haunted by dreams of a shadowy cloaked man in a world with two moons.

In this book, I finally got to tell her story. And man, it was a crazy one. The basic premise is: A rock star discovers she’s the prophesied savior of another world.

Here’s the blurb:

He haunted her dreams… and now he’s come to claim her.

Famous rock star, Xochitl Leonine, has dreamt of a world with two moons where a black cloaked man beckons her. One Halloween night, she meets the mysterious stranger of her dreams… literally… and their shared dance becomes a rendezvous in a place of endless night.

Zareth Amotken has no idea how important Xochitl’s heavy metal band is to her. As an immortal sorcerer, he doesn’t care. He has one goal: to find the prophesied savior of his world. Her voice holds the power to bring back his world’s vanished sun.

Xochitl’s compassion urges her to help in any way she can. Yet learning the mysteries of her past causes conflict with her future in music. Her destiny in his world and her obligations to her band pull her in opposite directions. How can she long for one while the other is so dire?

As Zareth introduces her to his people and teaches her to control her powers, she aches for his enchanting kiss. Zareth tries to resist, for their passion will unleash serious consequences, both political and magical.

As the time to fulfill her destiny draws closer, she must choose between her heart, her duty, and her friends. The wrong choice could ruin everything.

2. Where did the idea for the book come from?

As cliché as it sounds, this one came from a dream I had when I was fifteen. I kept seeing visions of a sexy sorcerer in black robes, an obsidian tower, and a world with two moons. I started the first draft in a 3 ring binder, finished it when I was 20, and typed it up.

And oh, god, it was terrible.

However, even after writing eight other novels, the basic premise stayed in my head, so I finally rewrote it…. about eight times.

3. Who and what inspire you to write?

Music almost always triggers a book scene for me. And cleaning, for some reason. As for people who inspire me, Stephen King has been my hero for ages. ON WRITING is my bible.

And more recently, Bonnie R. Paulson has become my biggest inspiration. Aside from her writing amazing and diverse books, her discipline and dedication to reaching her goals while still being willing to help others made me want to emulate her. My writing and industry knowledge has grown so much since I met her.

4. Each author has his or her own inspiring journey. How did you begin writing?

In elementary school I scrawled out stories about cats breaking out of the pound, stealing food and avoiding animal control. Teachers kept telling me that I’d be a writer someday, but I shrugged it off and argued that I’d be a paleontologist, a rock star, an artist.

It wasn’t until I was in my early twenties, holding a 100,000 word (and terrible) handwritten manuscript that I stood up and said, “Holy crap, I really am a writer!”

However, I was so clueless about so many things that after about twenty rejections, I temporarily gave up and became an auto mechanic.

But the stories wouldn’t leave me alone, and after my mother passed away, I decided to get serious about making my characters “real” in print.

In 2013, my 3rd manuscript, a historical paranormal romance called “Bite Me, Your Grace” was published.

5. What has been the most pleasant surprise about writing? How about an unexpected down side?

The most pleasant surprise is the community. My fellow authors are so kind, fun to talk to, and eager to help and give advice. And the readers, oh bless the readers!! I am overcome with amazement that there are people out there who love my writing and characters and connect with my stories. My readers keep me going.

The most unexpected downside is the business and marketing aspect. Taxes are more complicated and all of the marketing, formatting, and countless other non-writing things are part of a writer’s job.

I was a little jarred to discover that there is more to it than typing away on my laptop. 😀

Though some parts are fun, like interacting with my readers.

6. Do you have any writing rituals?

Though I’ll write anywhere and anytime I can, I prefer to write at home, wearing comfy jammies and my fuzzy robe, a Red Bull in hand and hard cider in the fridge for later. I’m still working hard to be able to do that full time.

I also give myself “treats” for achieving a day’s writing goal. A book, a movie, or a delicious meal.

7. Do you write your books in order?

Not always. I’d like to, but my characters never seem to tell me what happens in order. Conjuring Destiny came from the bare bones of the very first book I ever wrote, and now I’m working on my 3rd heavy metal romance, which I actually wrote first.

8. What is on your writing playlist for this book?

I actually made a youtube playlist! Here’s the Link if you want to check it out: https://www.youtube.com/playlist?list=PLOHiSOvnNdQwx7PQMcqdKGLfRs1zb0EOP

It’s a work in progress, but so far I have:

“Black no.1”: Type O Negative

“Shivers”: Dio

“Sweet Dreams”: Marilyn Manson

“Long Since Dark”: Sanctuary

“Fever Dreams”: Dio

“The Fragile” Nine Inch Nails

“Epitaph”: Sanctuary

“A Tout Le Monde”: Megadeth

“I put a Spell on You”: Marilyn Manson

“Physical”: Nine Inch Nails

“As Long As It’s Not About Love”: Dio

“Little Earthquakes”: Tori Amos

“Schism”: Tool

“Taste Revenge”: Sanctuary

Something by Otep, but I don’t know what yet.

“King Kill 33”: Marilyn Manson

“Stargazer”: Rainbow

9. Any favorite writing snacks?

During writing binges I subsist on Red Bull and low-hassle foods. When I reach a big writing goal, I like to reward myself with Wingstop’s garlic parmesan chicken wings.

10. What advice would you give writers who aspire to be published?

Build a thick skin. Set goals and strive to meet them, and be prepared for endless edits and rewrites. Be prepared for rejections and bad reviews. And ALWAYS follow submission guidelines.

11. Are you working on anything new right now?

I’m actually working on 3 new things: The first is my third heavy metal romance, which as I’d previously mentioned, is already written, but I needed to rip out the whole middle and rewrite it.

Then I’m working on my 4th Scandals with Bite book because the readers are asking, so they shall receive. 😀

And finally, I’m putting together a pitch for a straight regency series. No vampires, just 19th century shenanigans.

12. Who is your favorite character in your current book?

In Conjuring Destiny? That’s a tough one. Xochitl’s been in my head so long, but she often drives me crazy. Still, I’ll probably have to go with her as my fave, though I’m intrigued with her band, as well as Delgarias, who pops up in every book in this series and gets more interesting every time.

13. What is your favorite book of all time?

IT by Stephen King. I’ve read that book 12 times and will read it at least 12 more.

I wrote a whole blog post about why I love that damn book so much: http://brooklynann.blogspot.com/2013/09/why-it-is-my-favorite-book-reposted-in.html

One of the main reason is that the characters were all outcasts who became close friends: The Loser’s Club. I had few friends as a kid, so these characters became my friends. They’re still my friends.

And maybe that’s why my books focus on outcast characters finding love and happiness.

14. Tell us in one sentence why we should read your book.

Oh, I’m terrible at this… let’s see…..

You should read my book because I guarantee that it’s a strange and magical adventure when a rock star discovers she’s the prophesied savior of another world and falls in love with a sexy sorcerer.

conjuring destinyFamous rock star, Xochitl Leonine, has dreamt of a world with two moons where a black cloaked man beckons her. One Halloween night, she meets the mysterious stranger of her dreams… literally… and their shared dance becomes a rendezvous in a place of endless night.

Zareth Amotken has no idea how important Xochitl’s heavy metal band is to her. As an immortal sorcerer, he doesn’t care. He has one goal: to find the prophesied savior of his world. Her voice holds the power to bring back his world’s vanished sun.

Xochitl’s compassion urges her to help in any way she can. Yet learning the mysteries of her past causes conflict with her future in music. Herdestiny in his world and her obligations to her band pull her in opposite directions. How can she long for one while the other is so dire?

As Zareth introduces her to his people and teaches her to control her powers, she aches for his enchanting kiss. Zareth tries to resist, for their passion will unleash serious consequences, both political and magical.

As the time to fulfill her destiny draws closer, she must choose between her heart, her duty, and her friends. The wrong choice could ruin everything.

But if Zareth’s evil half brother succeeds in taking control of her for his own ends, he will take away her choices… and destroy the world?

Buy it on Amazon

 

Meet the author:

SONY DSC

Formerly an auto-mechanic, Brooklyn Ann thrives on writing romance featuring unconventional heroines and heroes who adore them. After writing historical paranormal romance in her critically acclaimed “Scandals with Bite” series and urban fantasy in her “Brides of Prophecy” novels, she now explores the chaotic realm of heavy metal music– a difficult world to find love in.

She lives in Coeur d’Alene, Idaho with her son, her cat, and a 1980 Datsun 210.

She can be found online at http://brooklynann.blogspot.com as well as on Twitter and Facebook.
You can also find her on Literary Addicts, Goodreads and Google +

 

Follow The Tour

The author is giving away a $25 Gift Card to the winner’s choice of bookstore. the store must be able to provide e-gift cards. 18+ giveaway ends November 9th, 2015 at 11:59 pm
a Rafflecopter giveaway
//widget-prime.rafflecopter.com/launch.js

One thought on “#Interview with Brooklyn Ann, author of ‘Conjuring Destiny’

  1. Pingback: Conjuring Destiny by Brooklyn Ann

Leave a Reply

